Digital Art or Photography?

Image

 

The above photograph is the result of merging two different photos which can be seen down below. I have always loved digital art and composites before I even knew what they were and from learning so much over the past few months I decided to give it ago. It’s funny I never really discriminated between a shot straight from a camera and one that has been completely modified like the one above until I heard members of my photography discussing it and apparently there’s huge debate around the issue. To me I think a pretty picture is a pretty picture and that is all that there is to it. So whether you call what I produced above photography or digital art or something else, to me it’s pleasing to my eye and that’s what matters to me 🙂

To those that are fantastic at photoshop you are probably cringing at the sight of this, I’d say if you zoom in close you can see where the two photos merge and I really saturated the shot with an orange filter after but I think it adds a dreamy feel to it. Also, me being the ever so critical art teacher, the sun is in the wrong position and as a result the light source for the rest of the image is off but whatever… I’m still pretty happy with it considering it’s my first try 🙂

Image

 

Image


Leave a comment